This effect will cause the target to, at random, do one of three things:
- Attack someone/something other than what the target chose. This new focus can be an ally, a different enemy, or even the target themselves.
- Nothing at all, effectively wasting the target's turn for the round.
- Whatever action the target intended to do as if they were not confused at all.
Confusion will cancel Guard when first inflicted. That is, if a Soldier Guards a Cleric then is confused that same round, any single-target attacks directed at the Cleric post-confusion will not be blocked. At the start of the next round the Soldier is subject to the usual rules of confusion as stated above.